Learning Frameworks

Learning Frameworks

Under the National Law and Regulations, services are required to base their educational program on an approved learning framework. This should focus on addressing the developmental needs, interests and experiences of each child, while taking into account individual differences.

National approved learning frameworks

There are 2 nationally approved learning frameworks which outline practices that support and promote children’s learning:

Belonging, Being and Becoming: The Early Years Learning Framework for Australia (EYLF)

Approved learning framework under the NQF for young children from birth to five years of age

My Time, Our Place: Framework for School Age Care in Australia

Approved learning framework under the NQF for school age children.

Other state and territory frameworks

There are also the following approved learning frameworks specific to Victoria and Western Australia: 

National Quality Standard

The National Quality Standard (NQS) sets a high national benchmark for early childhood education and care and outside school hours care services in Australia.

The NQS includes 7 quality areas that are important outcomes for children.

Services are assessed and rated by their regulatory authority against the NQS, and given a rating for each of the 7 quality areas and an overall rating based on these results.


Educators’ guide to the early years learning framework for Australia

Educators’ guide to the framework for school age care in Australia

2018 National Quality Standard (A4 Poster)